Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Picasa Version 3 (Beta)

Basic Overview of Picasa
While your photos are displayed in Picasa, they aren't actually stored in the application. When you install Picasa, it scans your hard drive and organizes the photos that are already on your computer by placing them into folders. These folders, along with the albums you create, make up the organization of your photos within Picasa.

Folders represent actual folders on your computer's hard drive that contain photos. In general this represents the root folder of MY PICTURES .
Changes you make to folders in Picasa will affect the matching folders on your computer’s hard drive.
Moving a photo from one folder to another in Picasa will also move the photo in Windows Explorer.
Edits you make to photos within Picasa will only affect the photos in MY PICTURES when you have selected the SAVE TO DISK. A copy of the original photo (pre edits) will then also be saved in a special folder named Original. The Folder Original is marked as a Hidden Folder and this setting can be changed in the Folder-View Option under Windows Explorer. Picasa will never Index the Original Folder.

Albums, unlike folders, exist only in Picasa. For example, you might create an album called ‘Pictures with Grandma,’ and include photos featuring Grandma from different folders to be used in a photo collage or to be shared online. Unlike Picasa folders, your albums don't correspond to real folders on your hard drive -- so when you delete or move photos from an album, the original files remain in their original locations on your hard drive.


New Features in Picasa 3

Ensure you are online and click on the links

A quick Review with Screen shots

What has changed

Monday, October 27, 2008

Mailmerge -MS Knowledge Base Info

Using Mailmerge changed a little when WORD moved from versions 97 and 2000 to 2003.

Therefore to cover all versions and options within the WE Group Notes proved difficult.
Below are links to MS Knowledge base which covers the various options.

Mailmerge Help
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/211206/EN-US/ Word 2000

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/212034/EN-US/ Word 2000

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/212329/EN-US/ Word 2000


Word 2003
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/294684/EN-US/ Labels

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/294685/EN-US/ Envelopes

Email with Mailmerge
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/294694/EN-US/

Sylvia October 2008

Mailmerge for Labels

Mailmerge to Create Labels using Address file from Outlook Express


Open a New document in Word. On the Tools menu, click Mail Merge.

The Mail Merge Helper dialog box appears.
Step 1. Main document, click Create, and then click Mailing Labels and then Click Active Window.

The active document becomes the Mail Merge main document.

Word returns to the Mail Merge Helper.

Step 2: Data Source
The data source contains the information that can vary in each label. You can open an existing data source created in Word or use a file exported from Outlook Express Address Book (See Notes)

Select Open an Existing Data Source

a. In the Mail Merge Helper dialog box, click Get Data.
b. Click Open Data Source.
c. In the list of files in the Open Data Source dialog box, select the data source that you want to use, and then click Open.

If the data source that you want is not in the list of files, click the appropriate drive and folder. Select the appropriate option in the List files of type box.

Word displays a message to set up the main document.
Click Set Up Main Document.

Step 3: Edit Main Document
From the Tools menu - Select Labels
Word displays the Label Options dialog box. Click the type of printer , the type of label product (such as Avery), and product number. If you are using a custom label, click Details, and then type the size of the label. Click OK.

Word displays the Create Label dialog box. The insertion point is blinking in the box under Sample Label. This is where you insert the merge fields to represent where on the label Word should print the information from the data source.
Click Insert Merge Field in the Create Label dialog box. Click the appropriate merge field.
Make sure that you type any spaces or punctuation that you want between two merge fields or after a merge field.

When you have finished placing the merge fields on the sample label, click OK.

This step returns the focus to the Mail Merge Helper.

Step 4: Perform the Merge

1. Under 3. Merge the data with the document, click Merge.

Word displays the Merge dialog box. (If you click the Query option instead of Merge, you have the option to select certain data records to participate in the merge or to sort the records in the data source.)
2. Under Merge to, click New Document to display the merged document on the screen. This allows you to view the labels before printing them.
It is at this stage that you can format your text to be centred in each label.
Place the cursor in the first label and from the Manu - Table-Select-Column now select the Centre icon. Complete this operation for each column
(Select Printer to send the labels directly to the printer.)
3. With New Document selected in Merge to, click Merge.

After the merged document appears on the screen, you can save it as a separate document, or you can print the merged document by clicking Print on the File menu, or you can do both.
Query Options will allow you to selectively merge the data. Look at the options and experiment

Address Book-Export Outlook Express Addresses


Export ADDRESS BOOK from Outlook Express to use in other applications

Open Outlook Express

1. Click on FILE - EXPORT to Text File (comma separated values)

2. Make sure you Browse to where you know you will find the file.. Desktop is a good temporary location and give it a name. Suggest you also indicate the date somewhere in the name

3. From these boxes you can select ALL the boxes to Export and click Finish. Filtering out unwanted data can be done at a later stage.
OR Just select the boxes against the information you want to export.
NOTE: In the WE Group we have used the Middle Name field to insert full Titles and the Nickname to indicate X for folk we want to include in our Xmas list, To enable a sort or filter then this field MUST be included when extracting.

4. Locate the file on the desktop and OPEN.. it might well open in EXCEL. It is not necessary to make any changes to the column width unless you want to print out from Excel.

5. This data file now is the one that can be merged with lists, labels and letters

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

FAQ - WORD

1 Q:. The Paper Clip annoys me.. how can I get rid of him

A: Click on HELP and select HIDE Office Assistant

2 Q: I cannot see all my typing across the screen. How can I see the edges?

A: Click on View/Zoom/Page Width . You might note that on your Icon Bar you will see a percentage. For a page width this could read 90% or 75% depending on the resolution of your screen.

3 Q: I used to see a ToolBar with Icons. How do I get it Back?

A: Select View/Toolbars/ensure Standard & Formatting are ticked. I also recommend you have Drawing ticked .

4.Q: I have problems selecting Text. Is there any easy way?


A: You already know that you can use the mouse to select text by holding down the left mouse button and dragging the mouse to make a selection. There is an even quicker way to select text using the mouse, however. This is done in the following manner:
Position the insertion point where you want the selection to begin.
Move the mouse cursor so it points to where you want the selection to end.
Hold down the Shift key as you click once on the left mouse button.


5.Q: I have lost the Vertical Ruler on the left of my page. Can I get it back?

A: In older versions of Word 2000 and 2003 select View from the Menu Bar .
The Normal View does not display the Vertical Ruler but the Print Layout view does.
If you want to see the vertical ruler, you need to switch to the Print Layout view under the View menu. This view also displays header and footer information.

6.Q: How can I resolve my problem of printing using different size paper?

A: First, set the proper paper size and orientation in Word.
Page Setup/Page Layout and select the size and orientation.

You might also need to change the paper settings for the printer. Select File/Print and then click on the Properties button.
At this point, things will differ depending on the type of printer you use. You simply need to locate the paper size and set it to match what you specified in Word.
Click OK to go back to the Print dialogue window

7 Q: Sometimes I hit the Caps Lock key. Do I have to re-type it all?


A: Well, the Change Case feature is your solution yet again!
· First, highlight the text to be changed.
· Next, Format/Change Case feature.
· In the list of Change Case options, you'll find one that says "Sentence case." That's the one you need to use when converting your text.


8. Q: Can I change the Standard Font in WORD?


A: How to change the style of the default font in Word 2002 or in Word 2003
To do this, click New on the File menu, and then click Blank Document in the New Document task pane.
2. On the Format menu, click Font.
3. Select the font, the point size, and any attributes that you want.
4. Click Default.
5. Click Yes when you receive the following message:
Do you want to change the default font to font name?
This change will affect all new documents based on the NORMAL template.
6. On the File menu, hold the SHIFT key down, and then click Save All.
Note If Word prompts you to save the new blank document, click Cancel. Word will not prompt you to save the changes to the Normal template unless the Prompt to save Normal template option is selected on the Save tab. To find this option, click Options on the Tools menu.
9 Q: How can I find out the names of the buttons on the toolbars? And what they do?
Hover the mouse over any button and its name will appear in a box near the mouse pointer.
Choose What's This? from the Help menu. The mouse pointer will turn into a pointer with a "?" symbol. Click on any button (or any other element or object on the screen) and Word will give you some information. Also, Shift+F1 will turn on the What's This? feature.
10 Q: How do I move the toolbars?
A:Click on the left edge of the toolbar (the mouse pointer will turn into a four-headed pointer).
Drag the toolbar to any edge for a toolbar or anywhere else on the screen for a floating palette.

EMAIL- FAQ

1.Q. How Can I Automatically Empty the contents of my Deleted items Folder

A: Let Outlook Express Empty the Trash Automatically When You Exit
To make Windows Mail or Outlook Express empty the Deleted Items folder automatically when you quit the program:

· In Outlook Express:
· Go to the Maintenance tab.
· Make sure Empty messages from the 'Deleted Items' folder on exit is checked.

· Click OK.

2.Q: Can I permanently delete a suspicious message from My InBox

A: Delete a Message Bypassing the Trash in Windows Mail or Outlook Express
To delete a message immediately without the Recycle Bin in Windows Mail or Outlook Express:
· Hold down the Shift key while pressing Del.
· Click Yes.
Be careful with this shortcut, though, since your message won't be recoverable once deleted this way.

3. Q: How can I sort the Mail in My Inbox

A: Sort a Mailbox in Windows Mail or Outlook Express
To change the sort order of a folder in Windows Mail or Outlook Express:

· Click on the heading of the column by which you want to sort.
· To reverse the order, click on the same column heading again.
· You can include additional columns not shown by default. Select View Columns... from the menu and check all desired criteria.

4. Q: Can I always open my Emails Full Screen?

A: Open Emails Maximized in Windows Mail or Outlook Express
To make Windows Mail or Outlook Express open email messages to windows that make use of all the available screen space automatically:
· Open any email in its own window by double-clicking it in its folder.
· Make sure the window is not maximized.
· Move the window so that its top left corner coincides with the top left corner of your screen.
· Grab the handle in the window's bottom right corner with the mouse and drag it to the bottom right corner of the screen.
· Close the message window.
· You can use this aspect to make your emails occupy all of the screen without maximizing them in future.

5. Q: Message List is too difficult to read. Can I increase the font size?

A: Change the Font Size of the Windows Mail or Outlook Express Message List
To make Windows Mail or Outlook Express use larger or different fonts for message lists and other interface elements:
· Select Control Panel from the Windows Start menu.
· In Windows Vista:
· Make sure Control Panel Home is highlighted.
· Click Customize colours under Appearance and Personalization.
· Follow the Open classic appearance properties for more colour options link.
· In Windows XP:
· Go to Appearance and Themes if available.
· Click or double-click Display.
· Go to the Appearance tab.
· Click Advanced.
· Select Icon from the Item: drop-down menu.
· Choose the desired Font:, Size: and attributes.
· Click OK.
· The Icon font is used for the list of folders and messages as well as toolbar icon text in Windows Mail or Outlook Express.
· Click OK.

6. Q: How can I quickly build my Address Book?

A: If you make it a habit to add everybody to your Outlook Express address book as soon as they send you a message, your email address book will grow quickly. Outlook Express provides a fast and easy way to do that.
To add the sender of a message to your Outlook Express address book:
· Highlight the message in the message list.
· Select Tools Add Sender to Address Book.
This inserts the sender with the name and email address that appeared in the From: header of the message to your Outlook Express address book.
With this method Outlook Express will not ask any questions. If you want to edit the entry, you have to do it in the address book.

Or
Select Tools Options/Select Automatically put people I reply to in my Address Book



7Q. How do I sort my Address Book into Alpha Order?

A: To sort the Outlook Express contacts pane alphabetically:
· Click on the Contacts button on top of the pane.
· Select Sort by Name from the menu.


8. Q: How can I check that my Email has been received.?


A: To get some idea of your every email's fate, you can request read receipts. Typically, the recipient will be asked to confirm the message has been opened.

Type your Message
Select Tools /Select\Request Read Receipt

While this is no guarantee the content has been read or even understood, such read receipts can still be useful to rule out some possibilities of failure and maybe quiet a wandering mind.

9. Q: What does this message mean ? Delivery Status Notification (Failure)

A: Within the message will be the reason that the message cannot be delivered. It is usually because the address is not correct. Check the address. Remember EMail addresses are case sensitive. Check for spaces, commas and dots!

If you are having trouble with an Email address then ask the person to send you one. Then hit the REPLY and this will add the address to you book correctly.

10. Q. What is Plain Text messages or HTML

A: With Plain text you cannot use character or page formatting nor add clipart. HTML will allow you to send photos, and type your text with font changes, colour and most other word processing formatting.