Showing posts with label WORD. Show all posts
Showing posts with label WORD. Show all posts

Wednesday, December 31, 2008

Word - Custom Shortcut Icons

Click on the Title to take you to the PDF file which can be printed

Monday, October 27, 2008

Mailmerge -MS Knowledge Base Info

Using Mailmerge changed a little when WORD moved from versions 97 and 2000 to 2003.

Therefore to cover all versions and options within the WE Group Notes proved difficult.
Below are links to MS Knowledge base which covers the various options.

Mailmerge Help
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/211206/EN-US/ Word 2000

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/212034/EN-US/ Word 2000

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/212329/EN-US/ Word 2000


Word 2003
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/294684/EN-US/ Labels

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/294685/EN-US/ Envelopes

Email with Mailmerge
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/294694/EN-US/

Sylvia October 2008

Mailmerge for Labels

Mailmerge to Create Labels using Address file from Outlook Express


Open a New document in Word. On the Tools menu, click Mail Merge.

The Mail Merge Helper dialog box appears.
Step 1. Main document, click Create, and then click Mailing Labels and then Click Active Window.

The active document becomes the Mail Merge main document.

Word returns to the Mail Merge Helper.

Step 2: Data Source
The data source contains the information that can vary in each label. You can open an existing data source created in Word or use a file exported from Outlook Express Address Book (See Notes)

Select Open an Existing Data Source

a. In the Mail Merge Helper dialog box, click Get Data.
b. Click Open Data Source.
c. In the list of files in the Open Data Source dialog box, select the data source that you want to use, and then click Open.

If the data source that you want is not in the list of files, click the appropriate drive and folder. Select the appropriate option in the List files of type box.

Word displays a message to set up the main document.
Click Set Up Main Document.

Step 3: Edit Main Document
From the Tools menu - Select Labels
Word displays the Label Options dialog box. Click the type of printer , the type of label product (such as Avery), and product number. If you are using a custom label, click Details, and then type the size of the label. Click OK.

Word displays the Create Label dialog box. The insertion point is blinking in the box under Sample Label. This is where you insert the merge fields to represent where on the label Word should print the information from the data source.
Click Insert Merge Field in the Create Label dialog box. Click the appropriate merge field.
Make sure that you type any spaces or punctuation that you want between two merge fields or after a merge field.

When you have finished placing the merge fields on the sample label, click OK.

This step returns the focus to the Mail Merge Helper.

Step 4: Perform the Merge

1. Under 3. Merge the data with the document, click Merge.

Word displays the Merge dialog box. (If you click the Query option instead of Merge, you have the option to select certain data records to participate in the merge or to sort the records in the data source.)
2. Under Merge to, click New Document to display the merged document on the screen. This allows you to view the labels before printing them.
It is at this stage that you can format your text to be centred in each label.
Place the cursor in the first label and from the Manu - Table-Select-Column now select the Centre icon. Complete this operation for each column
(Select Printer to send the labels directly to the printer.)
3. With New Document selected in Merge to, click Merge.

After the merged document appears on the screen, you can save it as a separate document, or you can print the merged document by clicking Print on the File menu, or you can do both.
Query Options will allow you to selectively merge the data. Look at the options and experiment

Address Book-Export Outlook Express Addresses


Export ADDRESS BOOK from Outlook Express to use in other applications

Open Outlook Express

1. Click on FILE - EXPORT to Text File (comma separated values)

2. Make sure you Browse to where you know you will find the file.. Desktop is a good temporary location and give it a name. Suggest you also indicate the date somewhere in the name

3. From these boxes you can select ALL the boxes to Export and click Finish. Filtering out unwanted data can be done at a later stage.
OR Just select the boxes against the information you want to export.
NOTE: In the WE Group we have used the Middle Name field to insert full Titles and the Nickname to indicate X for folk we want to include in our Xmas list, To enable a sort or filter then this field MUST be included when extracting.

4. Locate the file on the desktop and OPEN.. it might well open in EXCEL. It is not necessary to make any changes to the column width unless you want to print out from Excel.

5. This data file now is the one that can be merged with lists, labels and letters

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

FAQ - WORD

1 Q:. The Paper Clip annoys me.. how can I get rid of him

A: Click on HELP and select HIDE Office Assistant

2 Q: I cannot see all my typing across the screen. How can I see the edges?

A: Click on View/Zoom/Page Width . You might note that on your Icon Bar you will see a percentage. For a page width this could read 90% or 75% depending on the resolution of your screen.

3 Q: I used to see a ToolBar with Icons. How do I get it Back?

A: Select View/Toolbars/ensure Standard & Formatting are ticked. I also recommend you have Drawing ticked .

4.Q: I have problems selecting Text. Is there any easy way?


A: You already know that you can use the mouse to select text by holding down the left mouse button and dragging the mouse to make a selection. There is an even quicker way to select text using the mouse, however. This is done in the following manner:
Position the insertion point where you want the selection to begin.
Move the mouse cursor so it points to where you want the selection to end.
Hold down the Shift key as you click once on the left mouse button.


5.Q: I have lost the Vertical Ruler on the left of my page. Can I get it back?

A: In older versions of Word 2000 and 2003 select View from the Menu Bar .
The Normal View does not display the Vertical Ruler but the Print Layout view does.
If you want to see the vertical ruler, you need to switch to the Print Layout view under the View menu. This view also displays header and footer information.

6.Q: How can I resolve my problem of printing using different size paper?

A: First, set the proper paper size and orientation in Word.
Page Setup/Page Layout and select the size and orientation.

You might also need to change the paper settings for the printer. Select File/Print and then click on the Properties button.
At this point, things will differ depending on the type of printer you use. You simply need to locate the paper size and set it to match what you specified in Word.
Click OK to go back to the Print dialogue window

7 Q: Sometimes I hit the Caps Lock key. Do I have to re-type it all?


A: Well, the Change Case feature is your solution yet again!
· First, highlight the text to be changed.
· Next, Format/Change Case feature.
· In the list of Change Case options, you'll find one that says "Sentence case." That's the one you need to use when converting your text.


8. Q: Can I change the Standard Font in WORD?


A: How to change the style of the default font in Word 2002 or in Word 2003
To do this, click New on the File menu, and then click Blank Document in the New Document task pane.
2. On the Format menu, click Font.
3. Select the font, the point size, and any attributes that you want.
4. Click Default.
5. Click Yes when you receive the following message:
Do you want to change the default font to font name?
This change will affect all new documents based on the NORMAL template.
6. On the File menu, hold the SHIFT key down, and then click Save All.
Note If Word prompts you to save the new blank document, click Cancel. Word will not prompt you to save the changes to the Normal template unless the Prompt to save Normal template option is selected on the Save tab. To find this option, click Options on the Tools menu.
9 Q: How can I find out the names of the buttons on the toolbars? And what they do?
Hover the mouse over any button and its name will appear in a box near the mouse pointer.
Choose What's This? from the Help menu. The mouse pointer will turn into a pointer with a "?" symbol. Click on any button (or any other element or object on the screen) and Word will give you some information. Also, Shift+F1 will turn on the What's This? feature.
10 Q: How do I move the toolbars?
A:Click on the left edge of the toolbar (the mouse pointer will turn into a four-headed pointer).
Drag the toolbar to any edge for a toolbar or anywhere else on the screen for a floating palette.

Tuesday, October 23, 2007

Templates

Save as a Template
1. A Document Layout such as a Letterhead can be saved as a Template to be used whenever required.
2. On the Menu Bar, click on File – Save as
3. The Save As Menu box will display
4. Click in the drop down box against Save as type and a list of options will display.

5. Select Document Template – Insert a File Name – the click on Save
6. Your letterhead has been stored to be used again and again.

Use a stored Template
1. Click on File – New (or CTRL+N)
and the List of Templates will display. Highlight the
Letterhead and click OK.
2. Now start using the letterhead by typing in the date and the contents of the letter.

Wednesday, October 17, 2007

Word Text Boxes & Graphics

Introduction

These notes covers the facility of using Text Boxes and inserting a Graphic (either a Picture or Clipart) into a document. The benefits of text within a box or frame gives the added advantage of justification within the box, moving a block of text and maintaining the format . Blocks of text within a text box can also be overlapped if required.
Graphic images, can be inserted as an illustration and can be clipart or pictures (photos). Text can be above, below or around the image and applications will be demonstrated.

Get started
Topic 1: Insert a Text Box

1. Within WORD open a new blank document using the icon

2. Click on Insert on the Menu Bar and the drop down box will include
Text Box
Within Word 2000 this option is displayed when clicking on ..More…




Note: the Drawing Toolbar (usually displayed at the bottom of the screen) has an Icon to insert a Text Box. To display the Drawing Toolbar – Click on View – Toolbars –select Drawing

3. Click on Text Box and move back to the document. The flashing cursor with become a cross
4. Move the cross to a position on the page and holding the left mouse button drag it across and down to form a box and release the mouse button. The box will display with hatched edges with white square boxes at corners and mid points.
5. Move the cursor directly over the box until it becomes a arrow tipped cross . This is the move tool. Hold the left mouse button and drag the text box to the required position on the page and release the button.
6. Click within the text box and type text. Justify the text within the box and
format using font styles, size and colour. Use the Icons from the previous lesson OR on the Menu Bar select Format – Font and the Font window will offer options for everything needed for styling text.
7. This example is using your name for a letterhead.
8. Do not worry if the text becomes too large for the box as it can easily be made bigger. To enlarge the box , move the cursor over one of the corner squares then click and drag the box. Release the button when box is the required size.
9. Word automatically gives text boxes a thin black border. Remove the line by selecting the box (clicking on it) , then Format on the Menu Bar..move down to Text Box and click. The Format Text Box will display. Click on the Line - Colour drop down and select No Line
10. Create a text box for the address, justify the text, change the font, size and colour if required and then position the box. Remove the border of the text box

Topic 2: Insert a Graphic from Clip Art

1. Insert Clip Art to brighten the letterhead . First click at the top left hand of the document. On the Menu toolbar click on Insert – scroll down to picture and move over to Clip Art and click

2. Clip Gallery window displays. Click on a category and use the scroll bar to view the images.
To insert an image, click on it and a menu will pop up. Click on the Insert clip button and then the close button in the title bar. You will return to your document where you image will have been inserted in the top left hand corner

3. When the image is selected , white squares show on each corner and mid points. These can be used to re-size the image the same as text boxes.
4. If dragging a corner to resize is difficult then the Format- Picture Menu offers other methods including Wrapping

5. Select the image and the Picture Toolbar will display. Click on the Text Wrap Icon and select Tight.

6. Review the other options.



Note & Help! – Word 2000 users might find the image will not move. Select the image then click Format-Picture-Layout- and click on in front of text . The Picture Format Menu is also different and shows icons of DOGS.

Word97 users might also find that the option Edit Wrap Points must be selected before the graphic will display with the white corners and mid point boxes.

Topic 3: Moving Text within a Document (Cut & Paste1)

In this lesson parts of text will be selected, deleted from its current position and inserted in a new location within the document. This will use the ‘cut and paste’ option.

Using the sample letter the first paragraph will be moved to the end of the document.

1. Select the text to be move. In this instance it is a sentence.
2. Note the scissors icon is now bold which shows it is active.
Click on the icon to CUT.
3. Move to the area where the paragraph is to be move and press the enter key to create a blank line and space
4. Click on the Pasteboard icon and the paragraph will be inserted at the point of the flashing cursor.
5. Adjust the position if necessary
6. After a cut and paste operation the Undo icons also become active .
7. Click on the arrow and note what happens – the paragraph returns to the original location.
8. Undo and Redo will store a series of actions so that mistakes can easily be corrected.

Wednesday, October 10, 2007

Word Processing - Lesson 2

Shortcut Keys
CTRL+C Copy the selected text or object
CTRL+X Cut the selected text or object
CTRL+V Paste text or an object
CTRL+Z Undo the last action
CTRL+Y Redo the last action

Selecting Text

Any amount of text Drag over the text.
A word Double-click the word.
A graphic Click the graphic.
A line of text Move the pointer to the left of the line until it changes to a right-pointing arrow, and then click.
Multiple lines of text Move the pointer to the left of the lines until it changes to a right-pointing arrow, and then drag up or down.
A sentence Hold down CTRL, and then click anywhere in the sentence.
A paragraph Move the pointer to the left of the paragraph until it changes to a right-pointing arrow, and then double-click. Or triple-click anywhere in the paragraph.

Text Formating
Change the look of text by applying character formatting
To apply character formatting to a single word, select the word. To apply character formatting to several words or a few characters within a word, select the text you want to change.

Use the Format Icons

Or
From the Menu Select Format Font

Tuesday, October 02, 2007

Beginners WORD Lesson 1


Lesson 1: Word Window
Microsoft Word 2000 is the word processing application in the Microsoft Office Suite. Create professional-looking, formatted text documents with this powerful Word processing software.
By the end of this lesson, learners should be able to:
· Identify the parts of the Word Window
· Create a new document
· Open a previously saved file
· Change the document view
The Word Window
Word is the word processing application included in the Microsoft Office 2000 suite. Besides Word processing, Word allows you to perform many tasks in a typical office environment.
Shown below is the Microsoft Word default window. When Word is launched, a new blank document, or default window, opens in Print Layout view. Although window elements are fully explained in our Windows class, here is a brief explanation of the Word window.

Title bar
Displays the document name followed by a program name
Menu bar
Contains a list of options to manage and customize documents
Standard toolbar
Contains shortcut buttons for the most popular demands
Formatting toolbar
Contains buttons used for formatting text
Ruler
Used to set margins, indents, and tabs
Insertion Point
The location where the next character appears
End-of-document marker
Indicates the end of the document
Scroll bars
Used to view parts of the document
Status bar
Displays position of the insertion point and working mode buttons
Office Assistant
Links to the Microsoft Office Help feature
ENSURE the STANDARD TOOL BAR and FORMATTING TOOLBAR are available

1. CLICK on View
2. Click on Toolbars
3. Make sure Standard & Formatting are ticked

Sunday, September 30, 2007

October Month of WORD


Time of Lessons
Beginners class will start at 10 a.m until 11 am½ hr coffee breakMoving-on Group 11:30 a.m until 12:30 prompt. The Group will, through these lessons, support local charities. Angela has distributed the funds accumulated in the kitty and details will be sent out to members.
October is a 5 week month so we are able to include 4 weeks of standard lessons PLUS the meeting of the Camera Group on the last Wednesday in the month..
Autumn Term 2007 12th September – 12 December

3rd October 2007
Some of you have a version of WORD that is part of the Microsoft Works Suite. Many of the features demonstrated in the Beginners sessions will also apply.
Beginners 10 – 11.00am
Blank page… blank faces?.. then be one step ahead of this lesson and print out the Notes for the Standard Tool Bar from http://wegroup.blogspot.com/ January 07 Archives
Moving-On 11-30 to 12-30
Revision of the 3 most important toolbars – Standard – Formatting and Drawing
Create a Template using the HEADER Option


10th October 2007
Beginners 10 – 11.00am
How best to edit/correct your text using either keyboard or mouse options. Let SPELLCHECK take the eye strain .
Moving-On 11-30 to 12-30
Page Layout – Changing margins, paper orientation and paper size and starting to design a page with borders . Layering Text Boxes and Graphics


17th October 2007
Beginners 10 – 11.00am
Lets get pretty! Add some graphics to our page and set a neat, well balanced letter
Homework will be to submit a neat 1 page letter with graphic and using many of the features from the standard & formatting toolbars
Moving-On 11-30 to 12-30
Labels - Envelopes with return addresses and creating a set of your own personalised stationery. Homework will be submit samples of your personalised stationery – letterhead – notelet – business card -compliment slip- envelope with return address

24th October 2007
Beginners 10 – 11.00am

Review and discuss homework and troubleshoot
Moving on 11:30 to 12:30
Review and discuss homework and troubleshoot
31st October 2007
Photography Group
10am – 12:30 with coffee break

First session of the morning will again cover PhotoStory and based on the projects submitted give some tips. Also take it a stage further with the burning a VCD SVCD or DVD
After the coffee break we will consolidate on the edit features of Picasa and then move on to more artistic photo editing options with an in-depth photo editing program which features layers.

November
Planned subjects.. Heather will cover Spamihilator, Barry Howe has agreed to impress us with his progress this summer with converting his LP music to WMA and MP3.

Thursday, April 19, 2007

Hyperlink Options





Turn on or off Automatic formatting of Hyperlinks




Word can format e-mail addresses as hyperlinks as you type but this feature can be turned off



1. Tools Menu - Click AutoCorrect Options and then select Autoformat as you type tan


2. Under Replace as you type , select or clear the internet and network paths with hyperlinks check box.


You can also just turn it off for one item by highlighting the words then right-click - select Hyperlink and then Remove hyperlink.